Home | Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5 | Day 6 | Day 7 | Day 8 | Site Map |
This page is about Navarre Heptameron

Navarre Heptameron
Navarre Heptameron
An Illustration from Heptameron

Another illustration from the 1890 edition

The images on this site are taken from an 1890 edition of Navarre Heptameron. There are other illustrated editions including the first illlustrated edition published in Holland in 1698. A gallery of illustrations from first published edition of Heptameron can be found here.

Navarre Heptameron

Heptameron is an unfinished collection of stories written by Marguerite de Navarre. The work was begun in 1542, and it was interrupted by the death of the author in 1549. It consists of 72 short stories, told over a period of 7 days by a group of ten travelers (five women and five men) who, because of the flood, took refuge at the Abbey in Serrance at the foot of the Pyrenees. It is expected that it will take ten days to repair the bridge which had been washed away by a river, and so to pass the time the travelers agree to each tell a story on each successive day. However death of Navarre prevented the completion of the 8th, 9th and 10th days.

The theme of all the stories is love. After finishing each story, the travelers argue about its meaning, and what guided the characters. They unmask their hidden motives and bad faith, which prompted them to deceive themselves.

This site is where you can find information about Marguerite de Navarre's Heptameron